Gardner-Webb Has Four Honored With Big South Women's Tennis Postseason Awards

Jeff Sochko Photo  |
Jeff Sochko Photo |

CHARLOTTE – Gardner-Webb's Sandra Bolstad, Daniela Naupari, Sarah Rieckmann and Catherine White were each honored with Big South Conference women's tennis postseason awards Wednesday.

Bolstad (Oslo, Norway) was named first-team All-Conference Singles, Naupari (Lima, Peru) earned second-team All-Conference Singles honors and the duo of Rieckmann (Bietigheim, Germany) and White (Rock Hill, S.C.) earned second-team All-Conference Doubles honors.

White also earned a spot on the league's annual All-Academic Team.

Bolstad finished her sophomore season with a 9-8 mark overall, with all nine wins coming at No. 1 singles. She finished a strong 5-3 in Big South Conference play, helping Gardner-Webb to its highest regular season finish ever – fourth – since its move to NCAA Division I in women's tennis.

Naupari was a quick study at No. 3 singles, going 13-4 in that flight as a true freshman. Naupari also earned a 5-3 mark in Big South Conference play and closed the season on a hot streak – winning her last two matches and going 8-2 in her final 10 singles events.

The tandem of Rieckmann and White were outstanding all season for Gardner-Webb, going 10-6 overall and 5-3 in Big South Conference play. The duo was 9-5 at No. 2 doubles and split a pair of matches at No. 3 doubles in 2017.

Rieckmann also excelled at No. 2 singles, going 11-5 overall and 4-4 in league play. White led Gardner-Webb with 14 wins at No. 5 singles (14-3) and was 6-2 against Big South Conference competition – second-best in her flight individually.

Each has been very effective of late, with Rieckmann going 7-3 over her last 10 singles bouts and White posting a stellar 9-1 mark.

White, an exercise science major, earned her spot on the All-Academic Team on the strength of a strong 3.57 cumulative GPA – in addition to her standout play on the court.

Gardner-Webb, seeded fourth in the upcoming Big South Conference Women's Tennis Championship, will battle No. 5 seed UNC Asheville at Noon on Friday, April 21, at Wake Forest Tennis Center in Winston-Salem.

2017 All-Big South Conference Tennis Awards

First Team All-Conference Singles
Lauren Proctor, Soph., Winthrop
Alexandra Andrivot, Jr., Campbell
Sophie Cloessner, Jr., Charleston Southern
Alisa Soloveva, Fr., Winthrop
Megan Kauffman, Soph., Winthrop
Sandra Bolstad, Soph., Gardner-Webb
Tracy Johnson, Soph., Presbyterian College
Drousile Dzeubou, Fr., Radford

First Team All-Conference Doubles
Lauren Proctor/Megan Kauffman, Winthrop
Caitlin Cridland/Alisa Soloveva, Winthrop
Hannah Francisco/Kylee Shipley, UNC Asheville
Mi'Kola Cooper/Valeria Koussenkova, Charleston Southern

Second Team All-Conference Singles
Evangeline Crist, Jr., Liberty
Valeria Koussenkova, Sr., Charleston Southern
Nicolin Luecke, Sr., Charleston Southern
Anna Dollar, Soph., Liberty
Daniela Naupari, Fr., Gardner-Webb
Kylee Shipley, Soph., UNC Asheville
Caitlin Cridland, Sr., Winthrop
Kimberly Koerner, Soph., Charleston Southern

Second Team All-Conference Doubles
Nicolin Luecke/Sophie Cloessner, Charleston Southern
Alexandra Andrivot/Isabel Boada, Campbell
Natalie Sayer/Meili Martin, Radford
Catherine White/Sarah Rieckmann, Gardner-Webb

All-Academic Team
Isabel Boada, Soph., Campbell
Nicolin Luecke, Sr., Charleston Southern
Catherine White, Sr., Gardner-Webb
Emily Groeneveld, Gr., Liberty
Anna Pelak, Sr., Longwood
Tracy Johnson, Soph., Presbyterian College
Natalie Sayer, Jr., Radford
Hunter Hall, Sr., UNC Asheville
Caitlin Cridland, Sr., Winthrop

Player of the Year
Lauren Proctor, Soph., Winthrop

Freshman of the Year
Alisa Soloveva, Winthrop

Coach of the Year
Mike Baker, Charleston Southern

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Nicolin Luecke, Sr., Charleston Southern